Have you ever had to send confidential information over the Internet but felt uneasy at the thought of it possibly being stored somewhere forever? That’s just the situation Jacob Robbins found himself in last year. New York-based Robbins was working on a project with someone on the West Coast and needed to share a password via email but didn’t want to leave a trace of it online. “What if there was something that would allow me to destroy the email?” he thought.
The former head of software development for Drop.io, Robbins eventually began building a service that would allow users to share sensitive information securely. Burn Note, which launched earlier this year, can be used to send private messages that are deleted after they are read. Each message is assigned a unique URL and can be viewed only once. Deleted Burn Notes are completely erased from the Burn Note servers, thereby making them impossible to retrieve.